Skip to Main Content

I want to become a Database Admin.

Gareth_SmythJan 25 2023 — edited Jan 25 2023

Hey All, I hope you are well.
This is not really a query surrounding an issue I am having when working with the Oracle Database but I would like to hear from some people that maybe work in the sector and can provide some advice.
I'm 21, I am an apprentice of Computer Science at a local company in Ireland (never went to uni) and I have worked in plenty of roles I have been mostly a Tech Support Technician at Triage and Level 2, I was also a Microsoft Power BI Analyst over the summer in 2022. But as I am now halfway through this journey, I think I have decided that I want to work in a Data Services team, I will get a chance to work there within the next year.
Right now, I work as a Business Systems Developer which pretty much is based on the Oracle APEX Development App. I think I know this is not what I want to do because I have been working in SQL Developer while developing in Apex and I find this so much more fascinating I loved covering it in college and I love running queries and scripts, creating simple things like Triggers and Sequences but I always find myself having to look for help on this forum or elsewhere. I do not want to have to do that all the time for simple things that I probably could do myself if I just searched better on the internet. I am not lazy as I have seen people be called this on the community and I do not want to be one of them guys, I want to be able to do my own work and help others and provide advice to them rather than me always looking for it.